Poetry Post – ‘stardust’ by daenor

One of my dirty little secrets is that I have completed writing an anthology of poetry, but it is as-yet-unpublished.

My poetry pen-name is daenor (which is roughly translated to shadowflame in Quenya – a form of High Elvish created by J.R.R. Tolkien, author of The HobbitThe Lord of the Rings, and many, many others), and hence why my blog’s address is daenorestel.wordpress.com instead of sharaleereads.wordpress.com. (Additionally, estel is the Sindarin or more common Elvish word for hope, a name I chose because though some days I feel like shadow, and some days I feel like flame, writing always gives me hope).

elvishestel

It can sometimes take me a while to finish a book for review, but I thought I’d share with you one of my poems maybe once a week, and see what you think of them. And what better poem to start with than this? I give you one that actually references my pen-name (but in English), and is based on the great 2007 movie ‘Stardust’ (directed by Matthew Vaughn, starring Charlie Cox and Claire Danes, based on the book by Neil Gaiman):

stardust

Without further ado, here it is. Please enjoy stardust:

stardust

a fallen star,

unlikely boy –

such treasure found.

if i could shine

like that,

i would:

to you be bound.

a darkness stands

between us,

won’t you

break it down?

let starlight

gently

flood the night:

receive your crown.

i am not golden,

i am but

a shadowflame

to flicker in

the corner,

whispering your name.

there are so many reasons why,

both yes and no.

you stand there,

i forget them and

i simply glow.

– daenor

shadowflame

About SharaLee Reads

I love to read and I love to talk about what I read. Here I will share my insights on books people send me to read, on old classics, on graphic novels, on pretty much anything involving the written word. If you love books and you love to talk about them, this is the place for you! Bibliophiles are welcome and others are welcome to learn. Welcome to my literary world! (Now go read a book for a while). View all posts by SharaLee Reads

2 responses to “Poetry Post – ‘stardust’ by daenor

Leave a Reply

