Hello From the Other Side

Hello, again!

Since the last time I posted, my hubby & daughter & cat & I have moved to a new place in an area of Winnipeg that we just love. It has beautiful trees everywhere, old character houses, we’re close to the Assiniboine River, and a library and a thrift store, and delicious restaurants (Charisma of India has amazing Indian food, Decadence Chocolates has the best handmade chocolate (and spicy chocolate-covered salted hazelnuts & almonds!) I have tasted in the entire city, and we live just around the corner from Boon Burger, an all-vegan burger restaurant we are dying to try).

2016-07-26 12.51.47

Left to Right: ??? chocolate which turned out to be filled with Chai ganache & Coffee-flavoured chocolate from Decadence Chocolates

I am a huge supporter of small businesses, and that is especially easy to do in a neighbourhood with so much talent, so much flavour, so much care to the excellence of whatever craft it is that someone decides to pursue. Another place I recommend, that I really want to visit more, is Hollow Reed, where natural ingredients and remedies are not only sold, but actively harvested. This place also offers classes on recognizing and harvesting the healing crops native to our province, and how to use them, something I am very interested in investing in in the future.

It’s a great neighbourhood to be in, and I’m so glad Ivy can grow up somewhere safer and with less crime and noise pollution than one of our previous neighbourhoods. This is it for now, but I just thought I’d update on some of the more interesting places in our neighbourhood. Oh, and best yet: our front yard is a Pokestop. So all in all, I’d say this move was good for us.

What are some of your favourite places around where you live? Please let me know in the comments! Have a great day! ❤ 🙂

 – SharaLee

About SharaLee Reads

I love to read and I love to talk about what I read. Here I will share my insights on books people send me to read, on old classics, on graphic novels, on pretty much anything involving the written word. If you love books and you love to talk about them, this is the place for you! Bibliophiles are welcome and others are welcome to learn. Welcome to my literary world! (Now go read a book for a while). View all posts by SharaLee Reads

9 responses to “Hello From the Other Side

  • paulydeathwish

    Glad you’re doing better, Shara 🙂 I have a really depressing neighborhood. The whole city is similarly vexed.

    So I just go to Starbucks and study (cause that’s all there is) and hope to make some friends.

    I also like Half-Price Books. Other than that, someone forgot an ingredient when they were cooking this city 🙂

    I suppose I need to read Les Fleurs du mals more (considering my urban-inspired pessimism).

    Anyway, great to hear an update 🙂

    –Paul

    • SharaLee Reads

      Paul, Starbucks is the ideal “third place” (that place between work and home), to get away, so I’m so glad you have that at least. Half-Price Books doesn’t sound half-bad either!
      On Corydon Avenue here, there’s a book store that only sells mystery books. I love this area of the city.

      • paulydeathwish

        Oh yes 🙂 I am thankful for Starbucks! Without that, I wouldn’t have anywhere to go. Oh yes…Half-Price books is nice. I go to Barnes & Noble too. I prefer small businesses, but there is not much cultural development here. There is not much of a counterculture. Not much of an aesthetic sensitivity.

        Ah 🙂 I wish I knew more mystery books. I know Raymond Chandler, but I don’t know if that is the right genre.

        I feel a real kinship with Poe 🙂 I guess he was mystery.

        So glad to hear from you!

        –Paul

  • paintdigi

    Good posts, beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    http://paintdigi.wordpress.com

  • Resa

    Congratulations! It sounds like you are in a great place!

    • SharaLee Reads

      Resa,
      Thank you so much! I love your new art gown, and I’m so excited that it gets to be worn by an actual model! Will there be pictures of that as well? We are in a wonderful place, and I’m so happy to be somewhere that I feel we can start putting down some roots.

Leave a Reply

